Lancashire County

On April 1, 1974 the Furness exclave was given to the new county of Cumbria, the south east area being given to Greater Manchester, and the south-west becoming Merseyside. Warrington and the surrounding districts including the villages of Winwick, Croft, Risley and Culcheth were annexed to Cheshire. A part of the West Riding of Yorkshire near Clitheroe, was transferred to Lancashire. Lancashire is now a great deal smaller than it used to be.

Images courtesy of The Friends of Real Lancashire

Lancashire in 1889.

Lancashire 1889

Lancashire in 1986.

Lancashire 1986

Lancashire in 1974.

Lancashire 1974

Lancashire in 1998.

Lancashire 1998